merlo gusenbauer

schranz zimmermann merlo


Foundation of AIPS

The AIPS was actually founded in 1924 during the Olympic Games in Paris, at the Headquarters of the Sporting Club of France, (rue d’Elysee), by France’s Frantz Reichel (Press Chief of the Paris Olympic Games) and the Belgian Victor Boin, assisted by their colleagues Tegner (Sweden), Sekora (Czechoslovakia) and Pozzi (France) who held there the first AIPS Congress July 1-3, 1924. 29 nations were present. 

Reichel was elected president , Victor Boin vice-president, Georges Bruni (France) general secretary. This first committee finalised the Statutes which were approved on July 22, 1924.

Eight of the represented countries gathered their journalists within a national association, observing also the statutes of AIPS. Those countries were: France, Belgium, Sweden, Italy, Poland, Hungary, Germany and Austria.

Due to the sudden passing away of Frantz Reichel in his office at the ’Le Figaro’, the third AIPS Congress in Ostende, Belgium, in 1932 appointed as president Victor Boin who remained at the head of AIPS until 1956! From 1932 the congresses have been held every year.

The AIPS after second world war

After the Second World War the AIPS had to start its work again from scratch. This can be considered the second era of AIPS. At the electoral congress in 1948 in London Victor Boin was elected president, Marcel Reichel (son of the late Frantz Reichel) as vice-president while another Belgian, Antoine Herbauts was elected general secretary.

In 1956, at the 20th AIPS Congress in Cortina d’Ampezzo president Victor Boin expressed his wish to retire. And so, the task was passed on the Swiss "trio” of Henri Schihin (president), Max Ehinger (general secretary) and Lucino Valsangiacomo (treasurer). They led AIPS for eight years.

After serving as AIPS first vice-president for four years Felix Levitan (France) - chief editor of the daily ’Parisien Libere’ and patron of the Tour de France – was elected president at the electoral congress in Munich, 1964, with the Soviet Union’s Petr Sobolev (press chief of the historic conference in Yalta) as first vice-president and Antoine Herbauts as general secretary.

At the 37th Congress in London in 1973 Levitan and Herbauts passed over the leadership to Great Britain, Frank Taylor as president and Bobby Naidoo general secretary.

At the 41st congress in 1977 in Milano Marittima, Italy Enrico Crespi was elected president and Massimo Della Pergola general secretary. As most of the AIPS work was done by Pergola and deputy general secretary Istvan Gyulai, Crespi lost the election at the Sao Paolo Congress in 1981 and Taylor became president again with Massimo Della Pergola general secretary. Taylor’s outstanding personality and the energy of Pergola were to give AIPS the powerful image and prestige which exists at all levels to this current day.

Pergola left behind 12 years of very successful work as general secretary when he decided to retire in 1989 at the congress in Gothenburg. His successor was Istvan Gyulai while Togay Bayatli (Turkey) became a vice-president.

The tireless Matti Salmenkyla (Finland) who has worked in AIPS since 1977 took the place of Gyulai as general secretary at the 1992 Budapest Congress. Gyulai was elected IAAF general secretary a few weeks later.

At the electoral congress in Istanbul in 1993 new people took almost all positions in the Executive Committee with Togay Bayatli becoming president and Carl-Gustav Stenfeldt first vice-president. Matti Salmenkyla remained general secretary.

Matti said good bye to AIPS in 2001 at the Toronto Congress, leaving the way for Malta’s Charles Camenzuli (who had been in the AIPS Executive Committee since 1989) to become general secretary. Alain Lunzenfichter was re-elected as first vice-president, a position he held from 1997 until 2005.

The next, big change in the composition of the executive committee members came at the electoral congress in 2005, in Marrakesh, Morocco, when more than a half of the members were replaced under the leadership of new president Gianni Merlo (Italy), who won with an overwhelming majority. 2007 Camenzuli retired, since 2009 Roslyn Morris is the new secretary general of AIPS.

Member Associations

Starting with eight founding members, the number of member associations gradually increased, mainly after the Second World War. In 1964 the Munich Congress recorded 31 member countries, while at the end of Felix Levitan’s presidency this number amounted to 67 countries. In 1991 in Nicosia we celebrated our 100th member association. The number suddenly increased to 120 members recorded in the documents of the Manchester Congress in 1994. The total number of AIPS member associations as registered in the Minutes of the Oviedo Congress in 1997 grew to 130. Togay Bayatli left AIPS in 2005 with 144 associations members of AIPS.*

Building up the modern image of the 81 years old AIPS through:

A living, interactive and professional web-site, daily updated with news and data.
the AIPS Magazine has been turned into a colourful Forum of sports media professionals. Not only is it aimed to reflect the existing situation at the national level of our 144 associations world-wide but it also invites its readers to discussion, formulating messages, opinions, requests which reach directly the highest decision makers in sport. The colourful, 46 pages publication is published in 10.000 copies and as a spokesman of AIPS it is sent to all AIPS Members, all international sports federations and their officials, national olympic committees and International Olympic Committee members. It is distributed to all big international sports events. AIPS delegates active presence at the venue of major international sports events.

The AIPS congresses

Two times before the 75th Innsbruck Congress 2012 Austria were twice organizer. 1959 in the country capital Vienna, 2007 in cooperation with the Swiss and Liechtenstein associations in Bregenz. Here are the venues of all AIPS congresses:

74. SEOUL Korea 2011
73. ANTALYA Turkey 2010
72. MILANO Italy 2009
71. BEIJING China 2008
70. BREGENZ/VADUZ Austria/Liechtenstein  2007
69. DOHA Qatar 2006
68. MARRAKESH Morocco 2005
67. NEW YORK USA 2004
66. PORTO Portugal 2003
65. ATHENS Greece 2002
64. TORONTO Canada 2001
63. FORTALEZA Brazil 2000
62. BUDAPEST Hungary 1999
61. MONTEVIDEO Uruguay 1998
60. OVIEDO Spain 1997
59. KUALA LUMPUR Malaysia 1996
58. QUEBEC Canada 1995
57. MANCHESTER England 1994
56. ISTANBUL Turkey 1993
55. BUDAPEST Hungary 1992
54. NICOSIA Cyprus 1991
53. TORONTO Canada 1990
52. GOTHENBOURG Sweden 1989
51. KINSHASA Zaire 1988
50. SEOUL Korea 1987
49. BARCELONA Spain 1986
48. ISTANBUL Turkey 1985
47. PARIS France 1984
46. ATHENS Greece 1982
45. SAO PAULO Brazil 1981
44. BADEN-BADEN Germany 1980
43. MOSCOW Russia 1979
42. SPLIT Croatia 1978
40. MEXICO D.F. Mexico 1976
39. DUBLIN Ireland 1975
38. TORREMOLINOS Spain 1974
37. LONDON England 1973
36. FLORENCE Italy 1972
35. MUNICH Germany 1971
34. DUBROVNIK Croatia 1970
33. BRATISLAVA Slovakia 1969
32. BUCAREST Romania 1968
31. BERLIN Germany 1967
30. HELSINKI Finland 1966
29. BUDAPEST Hungary 1965
28. MUNICH Germany 1964
27. LYON France 1963
26. MADRID Spain 1962
25. PARIS France 1961
24. NAPLES Italy 1960
23. VIENNA Austria 1959
22. GOTHEBOURG Sweden 1958
21. KNOKKE Belgium 1957
20. CORTINA D'AMPEZZO Italy 1956
19. STUTTGART Germany 1955
18. BASLE Switzerland 1954
17. HELSINKI Finland 1952
16. ROMA Italy 1951
15. LUXEMBOURG Luxembourg 1951
14. GHENT Belgium 1950
13. LONDON England 1948
12. BRUSSELS Belgium 1948
11. BRUSSELS Belgium 1947
10. AMSTERDAM Netherlands 1938
9. BRUSSELS Belgium 1937
8. BERLIN Germany 1936
7. BRUSSELS Belgium 1936
6. AMSTERDAM Netherlands 1935
5. LUXEMBOURG Luxembourg 1934
4. WARSAW Poland 1933
3. OSTENDE Belgium 1932
2. AMSTERDAM Netherlands 1928
1. PARIS France 1924